DETROIT area events: APRIL 3 – 5

2 Apr

I’m so excited to be in Detroit on book tour as growing season gets under way.  If you’re in the area, I’d love to see you at one of the three events I’ll be doing:

TUES. April 3: HOLLY TOWNSHIP LIBRARY
6:00 – 8:00 p.m.
This is my hometown. A childhood classmate’s mom organized the event; an independent bookstore from neighboring Fenton will be selling the book. As a special aside: As a teenager, I’d walk down the shoulder of the road to the library after middle school let out and my after-school clubs finished up, and study there until my dad could pick me up. I”m delighted to bring some attention to an institution that helped to nurture me as a student.

WEDS. April 4: UNIV. OF MICHIGAN -DEARBORN
12:00 – 1:30 p.m.
Although it’s a midday event, we should be pulling a pretty diverse crowd out for the Center for Labor and Community Studies. (Bonus: You’ll be in close proximity to the excellent Lebanese food in Dearborn afterward!)

THURS. April 5: COLORS DETROIT
6:00 – 8:00 p.m.
I’ll be kicking off the Talk Soup $5 Dinner Series at Colors, the venue for the Restaurant Opoprtunities Center Detroit. Come join us for a free-wheeling conversation and (I hope) lively Q&A. (And, yes, I know it’s opening day for the Tigers, but remember: There is an opening day every year. There is NOT a Tracie McMillan reading for her first book every year. There will also be Tigers games ALL YEAR LONG but not book events.)

 

Leave a Reply

